Skip to main content


EDM (Early Day Motion) 448: tabled on 28 June 2005

Tabled in the 2005-06 session.

This motion has been signed by 16 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

As this motion is using historical data, we may not have the record of the original ordering, in which case signatories are listed alphabetically.

Motion text

That this House notes with extreme concern the arrest by the Indian Government of senior Dal Khalsa leaders, Mr Kanwarpal Singh Bittu and Mr Sarbjit Singh Ghuman, the President of the Shiromani Akali Dal, Mr Simranjit Singh Mann, and the President of the Khalsa Raj Party, Mr Jagjit Singh Chohan; and calls upon the Government to press the Indian government to draw back from what many regard as a campaign of oppression of free speech and legitimate political activity.