Skip to main content


EDM (Early Day Motion) 1341: tabled on 21 April 2008

Tabled in the 2007-08 session.

This motion has been signed by 31 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

As this motion is using historical data, we may not have the record of the original ordering, in which case signatories are listed alphabetically.

Motion text

That this House recognises the importance of reducing waste in tackling climate change; notes that the average woman will dispose of 11,000 sanitary products during her lifetime, adversely affecting the sewage system and contributing to landfill waste; congratulates Mooncup Ltd as a leading producer of a reusable and environmentally friendly sanitary product suitable for use by vegans and those with allergies; expresses concern that this product's availability is restricted to the internet and a limited number of retailers; believes that greater awareness and availability of such products would encourage women to choose this option where appropriate; calls on the Government to encourage use of reusable sanitary protection; and further calls on the pharmaceutical and health industries to stock and promote reusable sanitary protection.

The first 6 Members who have signed to support the motion are the sponsors. The primary sponsor is generally the person who tabled the motion and has responsibility for it. The date shown is when the Member signed the motion.

In addition to the sponsors, the following Members have signed to support the motion.

Cable, Dr Vincent
Liberal Democrat
Signed on 28 April 2008
Davies, Dai
Signed on 8 May 2008
Blaenau Gwent
Drew, Mr David
Signed on 24 April 2008
Etherington, Bill
Signed on 1 May 2008
Sunderland North
Featherstone, Lynne
Liberal Democrat
Signed on 5 June 2008
Hornsey and Wood Green
Foster, Michael Jabez
Signed on 29 April 2008
Hastings and Rye
George, Andrew
Liberal Democrat
Signed on 29 April 2008
St Ives
Henderson, Mr Doug
Signed on 25 June 2008
Newcastle upon Tyne North
Howarth, David
Liberal Democrat
Signed on 21 July 2008
Hughes, Simon
Liberal Democrat
Signed on 9 July 2008
North Southwark and Bermondsey
Illsley, Mr Eric
Signed on 9 May 2008
Barnsley Central
Kaufman, Sir Gerald
Signed on 2 June 2008
Manchester, Gorton
Leech, Mr John
Liberal Democrat
Signed on 19 May 2008
Manchester, Withington
Lepper, David
Signed on 18 June 2008
Brighton, Pavilion
McCrea, Rev Dr William
Democratic Unionist Party
Signed on 29 April 2008
South Antrim
McDonnell, John
Signed on 29 April 2008
Hayes and Harlington
Moffatt, Laura
Signed on 30 April 2008
Morgan, Julie
Signed on 2 June 2008
Cardiff North
Prosser, Gwyn
Signed on 30 June 2008
Rowen, Paul
Liberal Democrat
Signed on 4 June 2008
Williams, Mrs Betty
Signed on 25 April 2008
Williams, Mark
Liberal Democrat
Signed on 4 June 2008
Williams, Stephen
Liberal Democrat
Signed on 6 June 2008
Bristol West
Willott, Jenny
Liberal Democrat
Signed on 24 April 2008
Cardiff Central
Wood, Mike
Signed on 15 July 2008
Batley and Spen

There are no withdrawn signatures for this motion.