Skip to main content


EDM (Early Day Motion) 48: tabled on 25 May 2010

Tabled in the 2010-12 session.

This motion has been signed by 24 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

As this motion is using historical data, we may not have the record of the original ordering, in which case signatories are listed alphabetically.

Motion text

That this House recognises the excellence in jazz music in the UK, as honoured in the recent Parliamentary Jazz Awards for 2009-10, presented by the Parliamentary Jazz Appreciation Group APPJAG in the Houses of Parliament to Mark Lockheart, musician, Gareth Lockrane Septet's No Messin, jazz CD; Nigel Price Organ Trio, Jazz Ensemble; Jazz Bar, Edinburgh, Jazz Venue; Mike Flynn, Jazz Journalist, Alyn Shipton, Jazz Broadcaster, Jazzwise Jazz Publication, Dr Kathy Dyson, Jazz Educator and Brian Blain for Services to Jazz; congratulates PPL, who have funded and helped organise the Parliamentary Jazz Awards since their inception in 2005; recognises also the valuable support provided by Jazz Services in supporting jazz in the UK; and pays tribute to the musicians, promoters, venue owners, DJs, journalists and jazz music lovers who all make the UK jazz scene such a vibrant and important part of the UK creative industries.

The first 6 Members who have signed to support the motion are the sponsors. The primary sponsor is generally the person who tabled the motion and has responsibility for it. The date shown is when the Member signed the motion.

In addition to the sponsors, the following Members have signed to support the motion.

These members had previously signed the motion, but have now withdrawn their support. The date shown is when the Member withdrew their signature from the motion.