Skip to main content


EDM (Early Day Motion) 2240: tabled on 12 October 2011

Tabled in the 2010-12 session.

This motion has been signed by 20 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

As this motion is using historical data, we may not have the record of the original ordering, in which case signatories are listed alphabetically.

Motion text

That this House congratulates Tawakul Karman, President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf and Leymah Gbowee as worthy and deserving joint recipients of the Nobel Peace Prize 2011; notes that in receiving this award they draw attention not only to their individual causes but the wider fight against global gender inequality; further notesthat these laureates' championing of democracy and women's rights should serve as a reminder that the international community should not act with complacency towards oppressed peoples; and applauds in particular Tawakul Karman and the peaceful nature of her fight for democracy in Yemen, her tireless campaigning to address both social and gender inequality and her courageous role as chairwoman of Women Journalists Without Chains that seeks to defend freedom of expression everywhere.

The first 6 Members who have signed to support the motion are the sponsors. The primary sponsor is generally the person who tabled the motion and has responsibility for it. The date shown is when the Member signed the motion.

In addition to the sponsors, the following Members have signed to support the motion.

There are no withdrawn signatures for this motion.