Skip to main content


EDM (Early Day Motion) 1081: tabled on 12 February 2014

Tabled in the 2013-14 session.

This motion has been signed by 29 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

As this motion is using historical data, we may not have the record of the original ordering, in which case signatories are listed alphabetically.

Motion text

That this House notes the ongoing deterioration of the human rights situation in Bahrain as observed by multiple international human rights organisations, most recently Human Rights Watch in its 2014 World Report; is concerned by the continued culture of impunity and failure of the Bahraini government to hold individuals accountable for torture, extrajudicial killing and other abuses; believes that the Bahraini government has failed to implement the recommendations of the Bahrain Independent Commission of Inquiry and that this, along with the continued imprisonment of 13 high-profile activists who are serving long-term sentences for making peaceful calls for reform, undermines the chances of a political solution; further notes the recommendations of the recent report by the Foreign Affairs Committee (Fifth Report of Session 2013-14, The UK's Relations with Saudi Arabia and Bahrain, HC 88), in particular the recommendation in paragraph 214 of that report that Bahrain should be designated as a country of concern, if there is no significant progress by the start of 2014; further believes that this progress has not been made; and urges the Government to designate Bahrain as a country of concern and to make strong representations to the Bahraini government to end its human rights abuses, hold individual human rights offenders accountable and release all prisoners serving sentences that relate to their exercising their rights to free expression and association.

The first 6 Members who have signed to support the motion are the sponsors. The primary sponsor is generally the person who tabled the motion and has responsibility for it. The date shown is when the Member signed the motion.

In addition to the sponsors, the following Members have signed to support the motion.

Abbott, Ms Diane
Signed on 24 February 2014
Hackney North and Stoke Newington
Campbell, Mr Ronnie
Signed on 26 February 2014
Blyth Valley
Caton, Martin
Signed on 25 February 2014
Corbyn, Jeremy
Signed on 24 February 2014
Islington North
Cunningham, Mr Jim
Signed on 13 March 2014
Coventry South
Dobson, Frank
Signed on 19 March 2014
Holborn and St Pancras
Edwards, Jonathan
Plaid Cymru
Signed on 24 February 2014
Carmarthen East and Dinefwr
Galloway, Mr George
Signed on 1 April 2014
Bradford West
Godsiff, Mr Roger
Signed on 11 March 2014
Birmingham, Hall Green
Hermon, Lady
Signed on 4 March 2014
North Down
Huppert, Dr Julian
Liberal Democrat
Signed on 3 March 2014
Llwyd, Mr Elfyn
Plaid Cymru
Signed on 27 February 2014
Dwyfor Meirionnydd
Long, Naomi
Signed on 26 February 2014
Belfast East
Lucas, Caroline
Green Party
Signed on 10 March 2014
Brighton, Pavilion
McDonnell, Dr Alasdair
Social Democratic & Labour Party
Signed on 27 February 2014
Belfast South
McDonnell, John
Signed on 24 February 2014
Hayes and Harlington
Osborne, Sandra
Signed on 26 February 2014
Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock
Ruddock, Dame Joan
Signed on 10 April 2014
Lewisham, Deptford
Shannon, Jim
Democratic Unionist Party
Signed on 24 February 2014
Teather, Sarah
Liberal Democrat
Signed on 26 March 2014
Brent Central
Ward, Mr David
Liberal Democrat
Signed on 24 February 2014
Bradford East
Williams, Mr Mark
Liberal Democrat
Signed on 4 March 2014
Williams, Roger
Liberal Democrat
Signed on 28 April 2014
Brecon and Radnorshire

There are no withdrawn signatures for this motion.