Skip to main content


EDM (Early Day Motion) 381: tabled on 07 September 2015

Tabled in the 2015-16 session.

This motion has been signed by 25 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

As this motion is using historical data, we may not have the record of the original ordering, in which case signatories are listed alphabetically.

Motion text

That this House welcomes the positive atmosphere in the talks between Greek and Turkish Cypriot leaders, Nicos Anastasiades and Mustafa Akinci, the negotiators, Andreas Mavroyiannis and Ozdil Nami and the confidence building measures that are taking place, such as visits, plays and other events involving many Cypriots attended by both leaders; values the contribution made by Turkish Cypriots, in making Mustafa Akinci their leader in April 2015, to the positive attitudes expressed by Greek Cypriots in the recent University of Cyprus survey; acknowledges the remarkable work undertaken by the Committee for Missing Persons in identifying and returning remains of the missing to their relatives and by the Cultural Heritage Technical committee in renovating the Othello tower, mosques and churches; congratulates the Special Adviser of the United Nations Secretary General, Espen Barth Eide, for his meetings throughout Cyprus and for the setting up of the Gender Equality Technical Committee; hopes that this progress will not be interrupted by events in the Middle East or Turkey's elections on 1 November 2015; and calls on the Government to engage in any way possible, within the UN Security Council and the EU, to give positive support to a peaceful settlement to reunite the island and to form the basis of sustainable relationships between Cypriots themselves, Turkey, the European Union and the region as a whole.

The first 6 Members who have signed to support the motion are the sponsors. The primary sponsor is generally the person who tabled the motion and has responsibility for it. The date shown is when the Member signed the motion.

In addition to the sponsors, the following Members have signed to support the motion.

There are no withdrawn signatures for this motion.