Skip to main content


EDM (Early Day Motion) 1344: tabled on 11 April 2016

Tabled in the 2015-16 session.

This motion has been signed by 13 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

As this motion is using historical data, we may not have the record of the original ordering, in which case signatories are listed alphabetically.

Motion text

That this House notes that, following the US Magnitsky Rule of Law Accountability Act of 2012, as a result of their role in the death of Sergei Magnitsky and as a result of other murders linked to the Russian state, Artyom Kuznetsov, Pavel Karpov, Oleg F. Silchenko, Olga Stepanova, Yelena Stashina, Andrey Pechegin, Aleksey Droganov, Yelena Khimina, Dmitriy Komnov, Aleksey Krivoruchko, Oleg Logunov, Sergei G. Podoprigorov, Ivan Pavlovitch Prokopenko, Dmitri M. Tolchinskiy, Svetlana Ukhnalyova, Natalya V. Vinogradova, Kazbek Dukuzov and Lecha Bogatyrov have all been prohibited from entering the US and using its banking system; further notes that the anti-corruption summit will be held by the Prime Minister on 12 May 2016; calls for this issue to be discussed at the summit; further calls on the Government to enforce a travel ban and freeze all assets found in the UK relating to the individuals affected by the Magnitsky Rule of Law Accountability Act of 2012; and expresses concern that many people in Russia have died as a result of uncovering fraud, corruption and human rights' abuses carried out in that country.