Skip to main content


EDM (Early Day Motion) 464: tabled on 14 September 2016

Tabled in the 2016-17 session.

This motion has been signed by 18 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

As this motion is using historical data, we may not have the record of the original ordering, in which case signatories are listed alphabetically.

Motion text

That this House congratulates the organisers of the Linlithgow Folk Festival which is now in its 18th year; recognises that the festival is an important celebration of folk music in Scotland; further congratulates the Festival Association's success in bringing not only big names to the town of Linlithgow in recent years, including Eric Bogle, Ralph McTell and Tom Paxton, as well as this year's headline act The Outside Track, but also celebrating the work of budding artists, including students from the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland in Glasgow, including 5 Strings, the Falkirk Young Trad Band and local children Jamie McGinley, Joe Tunnicliffe and Stephanie McCormick; commends the Association for its success in bringing together both the local and wider community in a great day of celebration; further recognises the tremendous support provided by the people of the wider local community in ensuring 2016 was another successful year, including the Falkirk Folk Club, Falkirk Blues Club, Falkirk Fiddle Club and Linlithgow Ladies' Choir; and wishes the festival continued success in the years to come and encourages many more local organisations and individuals to get involved.

The first 6 Members who have signed to support the motion are the sponsors. The primary sponsor is generally the person who tabled the motion and has responsibility for it. The date shown is when the Member signed the motion.

In addition to the sponsors, the following Members have signed to support the motion.

There are no withdrawn signatures for this motion.