Skip to main content


EDM (Early Day Motion) 643: tabled on 02 November 2016

Tabled in the 2016-17 session.

This motion has been signed by 10 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

As this motion is using historical data, we may not have the record of the original ordering, in which case signatories are listed alphabetically.

Motion text

That this House recognises the enormous contribution by members of the Her Majesty's armed services from each of the British Overseas Territories and Crown Dependencies in wars and conflicts over the centuries, fighting for Queen, or King and Country; believes that the sacrifices of all these brave men and women should be fully acknowledged in a similar way to members of the Commonwealth of Nations, by granting representatives from the Overseas Territories of Ascension Island, Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Falkland Islands, Gibraltar, Montserrat, Pitcairn Islands, St. Helena, Tristan da Cunha, Turks and Caicos Islands, the Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia, British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands and the Crown Dependencies of Jersey, Guernsey, Alderney, Sark and the Isle of Man the right to lay a wreath in their own right at the annual Service of Remembrance at the Cenotaph in Whitehall, each year on Remembrance Sunday; and calls upon Her Majesty's Government to ensure that all the appropriate arrangements for this to happen are in place in time for Remembrance Sunday next year, Sunday 12 November 2017.