Skip to main content


EDM (Early Day Motion) 67: tabled on 27 June 2017

Tabled in the 2017-19 session.

This motion has been signed by 18 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House congratulates Olivia Robertson, Abbi Paul, Caleb MacLeod and Rory Oxland, all S1 Business and Computing students at Dunoon Grammar School, whose invention SafeStep, a bath or welcome mat specifically designed to assist those living with dementia, won first prize in the inaugral Internet of Things category at the 2017 Apps For Good Awards; commends their ingenuity in creating a door mat, bedside rug or bath mat, fitted with pressure sensors that automatically turns on lights or alerts a carer when either stood or fallen on; notes that their design faced stiff competition from more than 25,000 other young inventors from across the UK and in wishing Olivia, Abbi, Caleb and Rory every success in the future; and acknowledges the wonderful support given to them from the Headteacher and staff of the Business and Computing Department of Dunoon Grammar School, which was awarded the title 2017 School of the Year by Apps For Good for its outstanding work in computing, technology, business and innovation.

The first 6 Members who have signed to support the motion are the sponsors. The primary sponsor is generally the person who tabled the motion and has responsibility for it. The date shown is when the Member signed the motion.

In addition to the sponsors, the following Members have signed to support the motion.

There are no withdrawn signatures for this motion.