House of Commons
EDM #433
Tabled 19 October 2017
2017-19 Session
That this House notes Glasgow North and West Bowling Clubs' continued use, since 1955, of the Galbraith Trophy for which they have competed in an annual tournament on a Friday evening at the end of each April over the last 63 years: further notes that this trophy is won by the club whose four teams, commonly called Rinks in bowling terms, of three end with the most shots up; notes the trophy was originally donated by former hon. Member Sir Thomas Galbraith for competition by clubs within his then Glasgow Hillhead constituency; welcomes the fact that, despite successive boundary changes, the majority of these clubs remain active; considers Barclay Curle, Broomhill and Whiteinch which no longer play, but are remembered as having won seven, one and one tournaments respectively; congratulates Anniesland, Barr and Stroud, Hyndland, Jordanhill, Kelvindale, Partick, Willowbank and Woodend clubs for playing in 2017's tournament; commends all of those who have played for the Galbraith Trophy over the last 63 years; and wishes the remaining clubs and the competition well for the future.