Skip to main content


EDM (Early Day Motion) 465: tabled on 30 October 2017

Tabled in the 2017-19 session.

This motion has been signed by 16 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House notes that during and after the First World War, Edinburgh was host to a number of the War Poets, including Wilfred Owen and Sigfreid Sassoon; recognises the beautiful and harrowing work of Scottish Great War Poets, including Ewart Alan Mackintosh, Joseph Lee, Charles Hamilton Sorely and John Buchan; commends the work of the Wilfred Owen's Edinburgh committee in promoting war time poetry; and calls on all stakeholders and civic society to come together to pursue a fitting monument to all of Scotland's War Poets for the centenary of the end of the First World War in 2018.

The first 6 Members who have signed to support the motion are the sponsors. The primary sponsor is generally the person who tabled the motion and has responsibility for it. The date shown is when the Member signed the motion.

In addition to the sponsors, the following Members have signed to support the motion.

There are no withdrawn signatures for this motion.