Skip to main content


EDM (Early Day Motion) 901: tabled on 05 February 2018

Tabled in the 2017-19 session.

This motion has been signed by 22 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House welcomes the nomination of Joshua Wong, Nathan Law, Alex Chow and the entire pro-democracy movement in Hong Kong, known collectively as the Umbrella Movement, for the 2018 Nobel Peace Prize, in recognition of their peaceful efforts to defend basic freedoms, strengthen democracy and protect autonomy for Hong Kong guaranteed under the Sino-British Joint Declaration and Hong Kong's Basic Law; supports the letter released on 1 February by eight Members of the United States Congress and four United States senators to the Chair of the Nobel Peace Prize Committee; and encourages the Nobel Peace Prize Committee to give this nomination serious consideration.

The first 6 Members who have signed to support the motion are the sponsors. The primary sponsor is generally the person who tabled the motion and has responsibility for it. The date shown is when the Member signed the motion.

In addition to the sponsors, the following Members have signed to support the motion.

There are no withdrawn signatures for this motion.