Skip to main content


EDM (Early Day Motion) 1083: tabled on 16 March 2018

Tabled in the 2017-19 session.

This motion has been signed by 17 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House warmly congratulates the St Mungo's Academy debate team on winning the 2018 Parliamentary World Debate Competition (PWDC) held in Tokyo, Japan; understands that the team were the first Scottish team to compete, and also the youngest competitors; notes that the purpose of the PWDC is to empower young people to change their communities and world through international relationships and positive discourse; commends Maria Bisland, Michaela Roach and Ethan Walker on their prize-winning efforts; thanks their teacher Ms Long for her ongoing support and commitment to the debate team; wishes the other members of the detabe team, Lewis O'Neill, Thomas Higgins, Fabio de Pina, Milly Dearie and Liam Mossan, all the best for the future; and believes the St Mungo's Academy debate team are a credit to their school, their community, to Glasgow and to Scotland.

The first 6 Members who have signed to support the motion are the sponsors. The primary sponsor is generally the person who tabled the motion and has responsibility for it. The date shown is when the Member signed the motion.

In addition to the sponsors, the following Members have signed to support the motion.

There are no withdrawn signatures for this motion.