Skip to main content


EDM (Early Day Motion) 1608: tabled on 11 September 2018

Tabled in the 2017-19 session.

This motion has been signed by 21 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House notes that 22 September 2018 marks the 70th anniversary of the signing of the treaty which established the US-UK Fulbright Commission, responsible for delivering the Fulbright awards to American and British grantees; recognises the achievement of the US-UK programme which has seen more than 12,750 UK nationals and over 10,626 US nationals cross the Atlantic to study; acknowledges the programme's contribution to furthering the Special Relationship from the friendships made as succeeding generations have come to a deeper understanding of each other; further acknowledges that a Fulbright scholarship has been the catalyst for important scientific discoveries, Nobel prizes, great novelists and playwrights, economists and politicians; and calls on the Government on this significant occasion of the 70th anniversary of the creation of the US-UK Fulbright Commission to pledge to continue to support the US-UK Fulbright programme.

The first 6 Members who have signed to support the motion are the sponsors. The primary sponsor is generally the person who tabled the motion and has responsibility for it. The date shown is when the Member signed the motion.

In addition to the sponsors, the following Members have signed to support the motion.

There are no withdrawn signatures for this motion.