Skip to main content


EDM (Early Day Motion) 1874: tabled on 22 November 2018

Tabled in the 2017-19 session.

This motion has been signed by 18 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House welcomes the opening of Deryneia and Apliki Aplic checkpoints on the 12th hour of the 12th day of November 2018; thanks all Cypriots working to open these and other checkpoints in Mia Milia Haspolat, Athienou Kiracikoy and Kokkina Erenkoy, and three in Nicosia called for by their Mayors; recognises the contribution to peace made on missing persons, cultural heritage, education and the environment, and the recent contact made between Cypriot political parties; congratulates the Cypriot leaders, Nicos Anastasiades and Mustafa Akinci, for this confidence building breakthrough from their 26 October meeting; notes that the interconnectivity of mobiles is under active consideration; wishes them good luck in persuading Jane Holl Lute, the UN special envoy on the Cyprus dispute, of the urgent need for talks to start before the consideration of the UN Peacekeeping Force mandate by the UN Security Council in January 2019, aimed at the reunification of the island of Cyprus and a settlement based on a Bizonal Bicommunal Federation, to be put to referendums in 2019 and which, if successful, would benefit not only Cyprus but the 1960 Guarantors, Greece, Turkey and the UK, as well as the EU, US and the whole Eastern Mediterranean region; and calls on the Government to support this peace process both in Cyprus and internationally.

The first 6 Members who have signed to support the motion are the sponsors. The primary sponsor is generally the person who tabled the motion and has responsibility for it. The date shown is when the Member signed the motion.

In addition to the sponsors, the following Members have signed to support the motion.

There are no withdrawn signatures for this motion.