Skip to main content


EDM (Early Day Motion) 1938: tabled on 17 December 2018

Tabled in the 2017-19 session.

This motion has been signed by 17 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House congratulates Geraint Thomas from Wales on being voted BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2018, recognises his victory in the 2018 Tour de France, which saw him become only the third Briton to win the race; further congratulates Geraint Thomas for becoming the first Welshman to win Sports Personality of the Year since footballer Ryan Giggs in 2009; notes that this award comes after Geraint Thomas was named BBC Cymru Wales Sports Personality of the Year 2018 earlier this month; and recognises this remarkable achievement.

The first 6 Members who have signed to support the motion are the sponsors. The primary sponsor is generally the person who tabled the motion and has responsibility for it. The date shown is when the Member signed the motion.

In addition to the sponsors, the following Members have signed to support the motion.

There are no withdrawn signatures for this motion.