House of Commons
EDM #1993
Tabled 22 January 2019
2017-19 Session
That this House congratulates the Office of the Government Chief Whip on reaching its centenary year; further congratulates Sir Roy Stone, Principal Private Secretary, on his knighthood in the 2019 New Year's Honours list; notes that Sir Roy is only the fourth person since 1919 to hold the position of Principal Private Secretary to the Government Chief Whip; salutes Sir Roy's predecessors, Sir Murdo Maclean, Sir Freddie Warren and Sir Charles Harris; acknowledges the fine work that Sir Roy who, with the support of a small but excellent team of civil servants, has performed as usual channels for over 20 years providing a vital conduit between Government and Opposition parties while maintaining the finest traditions of the civil service; and wishes the Government Chief Whip's Office all the very best for the next 100 years.

Signatures (35)

The first 6 Members who have signed to support the motion are the sponsors. The primary sponsor is generally the person who tabled the motion and has responsibility for it. The date shown is when the Member signed the motion.
In addition to the sponsors, the following Members have signed to support the motion.
There are no withdrawn signatures for this Motion