Skip to main content


EDM (Early Day Motion) 2146: tabled on 05 March 2019

Tabled in the 2017-19 session.

This motion has been signed by 10 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House congratulates Professor James Harris, Professor Kate Rudy and Dr Silvia Paracchini, all leading academics at the University of St Andrews, who join Professor Sally Mapstone, Principal and Vice-Chancellor of the University of St Andrews, as well as 58 other distinguished individuals from across the UK, on their recent appointments as Fellows of the Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE); recognises the important work of the RSE as an educational charity; notes its enormous contribution and benefits to education, business, science, creative arts, health, technology, law, public engagement and international development; and commends the group's 1,600 members who give their time and expertise for free to support the RSE in delivering its mission of knowledge made useful as well as providing independent and expert advice to policymakers, supporting entrepreneurship, developing research capacity and inspiring and facilitating learning.