Skip to main content


EDM (Early Day Motion) 2293: tabled on 11 April 2019

Tabled in the 2017-19 session.

This motion has been signed by 17 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House congratulates the West Fife villages of Charlestown, Limekilns and Pattiesmuir on being awarded plastic-free status by marine conservation charity Surfers Against Sewage; applauds the group of villages on becoming the first official plastic-free mainland community in Scotland; notes that they join a network of like-minded communities across the UK who are spearheading efforts to reduce the use of disposable plastic in their local areas by achieving a number of objectives, including securing the backing of the local authority, setting up a dedicated steering group and encouraging local businesses, community groups and schools to remove single-use plastic from their operations; pays credit to the villagers including the schoolchildren of Charlestown, Limekilns and Pattiesmuir for their longstanding dedication to protecting their coastline with a regular programme of beach cleans; and wishes the Charlestown, Limekilns and Pattiesmuir Nature Conservation Group, who led the efforts to achieve plastic-free status, continued success in their bid to make these villages as environmentally-friendly as possible.

The first 6 Members who have signed to support the motion are the sponsors. The primary sponsor is generally the person who tabled the motion and has responsibility for it. The date shown is when the Member signed the motion.

In addition to the sponsors, the following Members have signed to support the motion.

There are no withdrawn signatures for this motion.