Skip to main content


EDM (Early Day Motion) 2366: tabled on 07 May 2019

Tabled in the 2017-19 session.

This motion has been signed by 28 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House notes 20-26 May 2019 is National Epilepsy Week; recognises the work of SUDEP Action and other charities on improving outcomes for people with epilepsy and their families; notes with concern that there are at least 21 epilepsy deaths weekly in the UK, many of which are potentially avoidable; expresses concern that many of these deaths occur among those who are vulnerable and struggle to access the services and support they need; acknowledges significant gaps and variation across clinical and policy settings regarding the complexity of epilepsy risks and the importance of effective management; recognises the Prevent21 Summit’s recommendation that more can be done to support the spread of good practice across the UK and better signpost bereaved families to SUDEP Action; congratulates SUDEP Action and their partners on their 2019 win of the prestigious BMJ Education Team of the Year Award; supports the provision of a simple free innovative solution in epilepsy risk management through a standardised SUDEP and Seizure Safety Checklist and EpSMon app, available for all clinicians and people living with epilepsy; further acknowledges the impact this work has had on personalised care, risk communication and shared decision-making by supporting clinical decision making and empowering patient self management; strongly encourages the creation of an empathetic and holistic approach to patient care and safety which would improve outcomes for many people and tackle avoidable deaths; and therefore again calls on Governments across the UK to work with SUDEP Action towards achieving this goal.

The first 6 Members who have signed to support the motion are the sponsors. The primary sponsor is generally the person who tabled the motion and has responsibility for it. The date shown is when the Member signed the motion.

In addition to the sponsors, the following Members have signed to support the motion.

Cunningham, Mr Jim
Signed on 8 May 2019
Coventry South
Stephens, Chris
Scottish National Party
Signed on 8 May 2019
Glasgow South West
Sobel, Alex
Signed on 8 May 2019
Leeds North West
Saville Roberts, Liz
Plaid Cymru
Signed on 9 May 2019
Dwyfor Meirionnydd
George, Ruth
Signed on 9 May 2019
High Peak
Godsiff, Mr Roger
Signed on 9 May 2019
Birmingham, Hall Green
Lewis, Mr Ivan
Signed on 9 May 2019
Bury South
Linden, David
Scottish National Party
Signed on 9 May 2019
Glasgow East
Glindon, Mary
Signed on 9 May 2019
North Tyneside
Gaffney, Hugh
Signed on 10 May 2019
Coatbridge, Chryston and Bellshill
Blackman, Bob
Signed on 13 May 2019
Harrow East
Hill, Mike
Signed on 14 May 2019
Hopkins, Kelvin
Signed on 16 May 2019
Luton North
Drew, Dr David
Signed on 21 May 2019
Rimmer, Ms Marie
Signed on 22 May 2019
St Helens South and Whiston
Hayes, Helen
Signed on 4 June 2019
Dulwich and West Norwood
Gethins, Stephen
Scottish National Party
Signed on 5 June 2019
North East Fife
Brown, Alan
Scottish National Party
Signed on 6 June 2019
Kilmarnock and Loudoun
Chapman, Douglas
Scottish National Party
Signed on 7 June 2019
Dunfermline and West Fife
Allen, Heidi
Change UK - The Independent Group
Signed on 13 June 2019
South Cambridgeshire
Hendry, Drew
Scottish National Party
Signed on 17 June 2019
Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and Strathspey
Smith, Laura
Signed on 3 September 2019
Crewe and Nantwich

There are no withdrawn signatures for this motion.