Skip to main content

Amnesty Brave Awards 2020

EDM (Early Day Motion) 275: tabled on 10 March 2020

Tabled in the 2019-21 session.

This motion has been signed by 10 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House congratulates Pinar Aksu on her selection as the Scotland winner of the Amnesty International UK Brave awards in recognition of her work to end immigration detention of children; understands that she has campaigned against detention since she was 15 years old after personal experience of detention as a child and now works with the Maryhill Integration Network in Glasgow; further understands that the Amnesty Brave Awards ran for the first time this year, supported by the People’s Postcode Lottery, with the aim of recognising activists around the UK for their work as Human Rights Defenders; notes that activists Elena Soper, Laura Pasternak, Nagineh Azar, Roza Salih, Remzije Sherifi and Beth Morrison all received special mentions from Amnesty for their work in Scotland, and four other winners were named from around the UK including Climate activist Anna Kernahan, disability advocate Dermot Devlin, and North Korea campaigner Jihyun Park; and wishes all the winners, nominees and all those recognised by these awards all the best for the future.