Skip to main content

Persecution of Leyla Guven and Kurdish political prisoners in Turkey

EDM (Early Day Motion) 583: tabled on 09 June 2020

Tabled in the 2019-21 session.

This motion has been signed by 14 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House expresses its deep concern for the welfare of two HDP members Leyla Guven and Musa Farisogullri in Turkey who were arrested and detained on 4 June 2020 after that Parliament stripped them of their status as MPs and immunity from prosecution; notes Guven recently survived 200 days of continuous hunger strike and is consequently immuno-suppressed; further notes that Turkey recently introduced a discriminatory amnesty law which excluded political prisoners from the release order; notes that HDP MPs were attacked during a peaceful protest in Ankara on 5 June 2020; asserts that Turkey violates not only international conventions on human rights but also its own constitution; and calls on the Government to make representations to the Turkish Government to end the arbitrary detention of Leyla Guven and all other political prisoners and their ongoing persecution of Kurdish politicians.