Skip to main content

Midlothian Volunteers Awards 2021

EDM (Early Day Motion) 186: tabled on 10 June 2021

Tabled in the 2021-22 session.

This motion has been signed by 10 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House congratulates the winners of the Midlothian Volunteer Awards 2021; thanks the awards’ organisers for creating an annual opportunity to recognise and reward some of the volunteers and inspirational people who bring about positive change in their communities; notes that the awards ceremony was held virtually this year on the 3rd June and was attended by over 150 people; commends the people of Midlothian on their strong community spirit, selflessness and volunteering ethos; and sends its individual congratulations to Heather Mortimore from Food Facts Friends, Outstanding New Volunteer; The Connect Project Volunteers from Volunteer Midlothian, Befriender/Mentor of the Year; Chris Boyle and Ricky Lloyd of Dalkeith Rugby Football Club, Active Volunteering; The Midlothian Breastfeeding Alliance, Health and Wellbeing Award); Colette Pye from Mayfield and District Breastfeeding Support Group, Dedicated Service; The Amazing Brains Committee at Art Club, Covid-19 Community Award; Naomi Knights from the Connect Project at Volunteer Midlothian, Volunteer Manager of the Year; Kyle Anderson, Eva Hesketh-Laird, Louise Gillespie, Melissa Reidie, Samantha Gough, Saltire Summit Award; Joseph Burke of Health in Mind, Volunteer of the Year; and Penicuik Ambassadors, Volunteering Team of the Year.