Skip to main content

Anniversary of the Tiananmen Square Massacre

EDM (Early Day Motion) 189: tabled on 14 June 2021

Tabled in the 2021-22 session.

This motion has been signed by 19 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House notes that 4 June marks the 32nd anniversary of the 1989 brutal suppression of peaceful human rights and pro-democracy activists in Tiananmen Square in Beijing in which thousands died or were wounded; recognises that to this day, the family members of the victims are seeking justice for their loved ones; expresses alarm that for the first time since 1990, there was no organised in-person vigil in Hong Kong to commemorate the massacre, as the public was warned that anyone attending the vigil could face up to five years in prison; condemns the Chinese Communist Party’s continued violation of the human rights of the Chinese people; expresses concern that the human rights situation in China has rapidly deteriorated under president Xi Jinping; expresses further concern that in the Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region, over one million Uyghurs, Kazakhs and members of other ethnic groups have been detained in re-education camps since 2017 without charge, and numerous reports have emerged from the camps of torture, ill-treatment, forced labour, systematic rape and forced sterilisation; further condemns the Chinese government's continued actions to undermine the human rights to freedom of religion or belief, freedom of expression, and freedom of assembly as laid out in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights; and urges the Government to press the Chinese government in public and in private to end human rights violations in the country.

The first 6 Members who have signed to support the motion are the sponsors. The primary sponsor is generally the person who tabled the motion and has responsibility for it. The date shown is when the Member signed the motion.

In addition to the sponsors, the following Members have signed to support the motion.

There are no withdrawn signatures for this motion.