Skip to main content

Water pollution in northern Sri Lanka

EDM (Early Day Motion) 367: tabled on 22 July 2021

Tabled in the 2021-22 session.

This motion has been signed by 31 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House expresses concern regarding water quality in northern Sri Lanka; is concerned by reports stating that the Sri Lankan Government refused to allow independent assessments of water quality in the region; notes that the consumption or use of water contaminated by waste oil has been linked to many diseases and birth defects; calls for steps to be taken to allow all citizens in northern Sri Lanka, the majority of whom are Tamils, to have access to clean drinking water; calls on the area around the Chunnakam power plant complex to be subjected to a full independent investigation; and believes that all citizens affected by water contamination should be provided with competent medical follow-up and be compensated adequately by the Sri Lankan Government.

The first 6 Members who have signed to support the motion are the sponsors. The primary sponsor is generally the person who tabled the motion and has responsibility for it. The date shown is when the Member signed the motion.

In addition to the sponsors, the following Members have signed to support the motion.

Fellows, Marion
Scottish National Party
Signed on 6 September 2021
Motherwell and Wishaw
Hobhouse, Wera
Liberal Democrat
Signed on 6 September 2021
Mishra, Navendu
Signed on 6 September 2021
Dorans, Allan
Scottish National Party
Signed on 6 September 2021
Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock
Olney, Sarah
Liberal Democrat
Signed on 18 August 2021
Richmond Park
MacAskill, Kenny
Alba Party
Signed on 25 August 2021
East Lothian
Farron, Tim
Liberal Democrat
Signed on 6 September 2021
Westmorland and Lonsdale
McDonnell, John
Signed on 17 September 2021
Hayes and Harlington
Timms, Stephen
Signed on 15 November 2021
East Ham
Davey, Ed
Liberal Democrat
Signed on 7 December 2021
Kingston and Surbiton
McDonagh, Siobhain
Signed on 14 December 2021
Mitcham and Morden
Begum, Apsana
Signed on 5 January 2022
Poplar and Limehouse
Webbe, Claudia
Signed on 7 January 2022
Leicester East
Whitley, Mick
Signed on 17 January 2022
Law, Chris
Scottish National Party
Signed on 17 January 2022
Dundee West
Maskell, Rachael
Signed on 24 January 2022
York Central
Chapman, Douglas
Scottish National Party
Signed on 25 January 2022
Dunfermline and West Fife
Sultana, Zarah
Signed on 21 February 2022
Coventry South
Carden, Dan
Signed on 11 March 2022
Liverpool, Walton
Cryer, John
Signed on 14 March 2022
Leyton and Wanstead
Morris, Grahame
Signed on 17 March 2022
Helen Morgan,
Signed on 28 March 2022
Nicolson, John
Scottish National Party
Signed on 28 March 2022
Ochil and South Perthshire
Qureshi, Yasmin
Signed on 30 March 2022
Bolton South East
Ribeiro-Addy, Bell
Signed on 27 April 2022

There are no withdrawn signatures for this motion.