Skip to main content

Kinlochshiel Shinty Club Camanachd Cup winners

EDM (Early Day Motion) 523: tabled on 18 October 2021

Tabled in the 2021-22 session.

This motion has been signed by 6 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House warmly congratulates Kinlochshiel Shinty Club on its historic victory at this year’s Camanachd Cup Final, where players lifted the title for the first time in the club’s 63-year history after an impressive 3-1 triumph against 2015 cup winners Lovat; commends the performances of team members, particularly captain Keith MacRae who scored an outstanding hat-trick and defender Conor Cormack who was awarded the Albert Smith Medal for Man of the Match; notes that the Cup Final match at Mossfield Park in Oban attracted the largest crowd for many years, including a huge contingent of Kinlochshiel supporters who made a five-hour round trip to attend; recognises that this is a tremendous achievement for the Ross-shire club, managed by Johnston Gill and based in the small village of Balmacara near Kyle of Lochalsh; and wishes the club well in the forthcoming MacTavish Cup.