Skip to main content

Purple Radio awards at Student Radio Awards 2021

EDM (Early Day Motion) 659: tabled on 16 November 2021

Tabled in the 2021-22 session.

This motion has been signed by 5 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House congratulates Durham University’s Purple Radio on its success at the 2021 Student Radio Awards winning four Gold awards, three Silver awards, and three Bronze awards; noting that Gold awards were given to the station as a whole for Diversity, Equality and Inclusion, to Alex Orton, Simon Lake, Millie Morton, Ariel Hollamby, and James Tillotson for Best Station Branding, and to Ella Bicknell for her podcast ‘Letters from a Stranger’ which won the Kevin Greening Award for Creativity and Best Podcast award; further commends Silver award winners Ella Bicknell for Best Sports Programming and Best Journalistic Programming, and Josh Davies for Technical Achievement; further commends winners of Bronze Awards, Abigail Brierley, Emma Ghanem, Bill Pain, and Ella Bicknell for Best Journalistic Programming, Josh Davies for Best Newcomer, and Joanna Wright for Best Producer; recognises the importance of Student Radio in fostering new voices and giving voices to students; and commends the achievements of all Durham University students involved in Student Radio.