Skip to main content

Heriot-Watt University awarded Queen’s Anniversary Prize

EDM (Early Day Motion) 790: tabled on 16 December 2021

Tabled in the 2021-22 session.

This motion has been signed by 11 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House congratulates Heriot-Watt University on the award of a Queen’s Anniversary Prize, the highest honour in UK education, for its pioneering research in the frontier science of photonics; acknowledges that Heriot-Watt University has been a key contributor to this field over the last five decades and has contributed to practical applications to the world’s photonics technologies, with research in fibre optics intrinsic to global communication systems and the internet; understands that uses of the University’s laser technology and optical fibre sensor research applications range from manufacturing to vital health monitoring and supporting the country’s national defence; celebrates the outstanding contribution of Professor Julian Jones, Senior Deputy Principal at Heriot-Watt, who has devoted much his career to advancing photonics research; notes that award of this prize comes during Heriot-Watt’s bicentennial year and exemplifies the University’s enduring commitment to use education and science for the betterment of society; further notes that Heriot-Watt University has been presented with a Queen’s Anniversary Prize on three prior occasions; and conveys its thanks to all those who have helped to advance the understanding and application of this transformational technology.