Skip to main content

Belarus political prisoners

EDM (Early Day Motion) 939: tabled on 01 February 2022

Tabled in the 2021-22 session.

This motion has been signed by 15 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House views with serious concern the fraudulent election in Belarus in August 2020 which led to widespread public demonstrations; notes that these demonstrations have been met by increasingly repressive measures by the governing regime; condemns the arbitrary arrests, use of extreme violence by security forces and allegations of torture and sexual violence in prisons; emphasises that there are now over 1000 political prisoners in Belarus; deplores the incarceration of so many women who have young children, including Volha Zalatar, Alena Maushuk, Tatsiana Kaneuskaya, Tatsiana Zverko, Ksenia Lutskina, Antanina Kanavalava, Iryna Schastnaya, Maryna Dubrouskaya, Iryna Harashyna, Alena Kurnysh, Yuliya Laptanovich, Palina Sharenda-Panasyuk, Volha Takarchuk, Tatsiana Astrouskaya, and Volha Filatchenkava; and calls on the Belarusian authorities to immediately release all political prisoners, especially women with children, and comply with its human rights obligations.