Skip to main content

Team GB Curling at the 2022 Winter Olympics (No. 2)

EDM (Early Day Motion) 989: tabled on 21 February 2022

Tabled in the 2021-22 session.

This motion has been signed by 9 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House wholeheartedly congratulates the Great Britain’s Women’s Curling Team of Eve Muirhead, Vicky Wright, Jennifer Dodds, Hailey Duff and Mili Smith on winning the gold medal at the Winter Olympics; congratulates the Great Britain Men's Curling Team of Bruce Mouat, Grant Hardie, Bobby Lammie, Hammy McMillan and Ross Whyte on winning the silver medal at the Winter Olympics; recognises the work of David Murdoch as coach of both teams and his association with Lockerbie Ice Rink which has played such an important part in the development of curling in Scotland; notes that the gold medal victory, in particular, marks the first British Winter Games curling gold medal for 20 years; welcomes the fact that the teams will be bringing Olympic medals back to the birthplace of curling; and believes that these spectacular victories should be used to encourage others around the UK, especially young people, to take up the sport.