Skip to main content

SNP Election results in Midlothian

EDM (Early Day Motion) 13: tabled on 10 May 2022

Tabled in the 2022-23 session.

This motion has been signed by 5 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House congratulates the Scottish National Party (SNP) Midlothian Council group on their success in being elected as the largest party following Thursday 6th May’s local elections; recognises that the SNP successfully won both the most seats and the most votes, and has therefore secured a mandate to form Midlothian Council’s next administration; recognises that the SNP’s success in Midlothian reflects the people of Midlothian’s desire for a new administration that prioritises local services, a forward-thinking and long-term outlook for Midlothian’s future, and meaningful engagement with communities; congratulates the following elected SNP Midlothian councillors: Debbi McCall, Connor McManus, Dianne Alexander, Colin Cassidy, Kelly Parry, Stuart McKenzie, Douglas Bowen, and Ellen Scott; further congratulates all the SNP Midlothian candidates who were not elected, for running fantastic campaigns that engaged the people of Midlothian and highlighted the local issues most important to communities; sincerely thanks voters in Midlothian for putting their faith in the SNP to take on the mantle of running Midlothian Council on their behalf; and wishes the SNP Midlothian Council group the very best in forming an administration and putting Midlothian’s needs first.