Skip to main content

Detention of Tamil refugees in the British Indian Ocean Territory

EDM (Early Day Motion) 88: tabled on 23 May 2022

Tabled in the 2022-23 session.

This motion has been signed by 18 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House acknowledges that at least 89 Eelam Tamils, including 20 children, are being detained indefinitely on the British Indian Ocean Territory Diego Garcia after their boat was intercepted by British military; recognises that these refugees cannot return to Sri Lanka, where they have faced persecution as Tamils and in some cases even torture; is aware that 42 of the refugees have gone on a hunger strike to protest their situation, which is having a catastrophic impact on their mental health; notes with concern that British authorities are not offering legal counsel or assessing asylum claims on Diego Garcia, despite reports the group has made clear they are seeking international protection; emphasises the UK’s international legal commitments to allow anyone to apply for asylum; and calls on the Government to provide enabling support to allow the Tamil refugees on Diego Garcia to claim asylum in a safe country of their choosing.

The first 6 Members who have signed to support the motion are the sponsors. The primary sponsor is generally the person who tabled the motion and has responsibility for it. The date shown is when the Member signed the motion.

In addition to the sponsors, the following Members have signed to support the motion.

There are no withdrawn signatures for this motion.