Skip to main content

Midlothian Volunteer Awards 2022

EDM (Early Day Motion) 140: tabled on 07 June 2022

Tabled in the 2022-23 session.

This motion has been signed by 8 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House congratulates the nominees and winners of the Midlothian Volunteer Awards 2022; thanks the organisers at Volunteer Midlothian for the annual opportunity, held during Volunteers Week, to celebrate the amazing efforts of local volunteers who dedicate their time and skills to bring about positive change in Midlothian's communities across a wide range of inspirational projects; commends the people of Midlothian for their incredible efforts and strong sense of community spirit; and sends its individual congratulations to award winners Karyn McGrath of Anam Cara, Volunteer of the Year; Ageing Well, Volunteering Team of the Year; Margaret McMeekin of Transform, Outstanding New Volunteer; Alan Paterson of Thornton Rose Riding for the Disabled, Befriender/Mentor of the Year and Digital Volunteering; the Amazing Brains Committee at Art Club, winner of the Active Volunteering and Climate Change award; Juliette Paris, nominated by Rosewell and District Community Council, Service to the Community award; Margaret Canning of Hearing Link Scotland, Health and Wellbeing Award; John McVeigh of Health-in-Mind, Dedicated Service to Volunteering Award; Joanna Habba of Home Link Family Support, Equality and Diversity Award; Sam Ewens, Lucy White, Andrew Hogg, Caitlin Chambers, Kari Calder and Jaylynn King, Saltire Summit Award winners.