Skip to main content

Eurovision Song Contest winner and 2023 host country

EDM (Early Day Motion) 213: tabled on 27 June 2022

Tabled in the 2022-23 session.

This motion has been signed by 4 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House recognises the winner of the 2022 Eurovision was Ukraine; deplores the Russian aggression that has led to a situation where Ukraine’s capacity to hold the contest has been put into question; notes that as runners up, the United Kingdom are possible hosts should Ukraine be unable to host the contest; further notes that Edinburgh is one of Kyiv’s twin cities; and calls on the Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport to work with the BBC to explore the potential for Edinburgh to host the 2023 contest in solidarity with the Ukrainian people.

The first 6 Members who have signed to support the motion are the sponsors. The primary sponsor is generally the person who tabled the motion and has responsibility for it. The date shown is when the Member signed the motion.

There are no withdrawn signatures for this motion.