Skip to main content

Proposed Energy Equity Commission Bill

EDM (Early Day Motion) 470: tabled on 17 October 2022

Tabled in the 2022-23 session.

This motion has been signed by 34 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House believes the Government’s Energy Price Guarantee is socially unjust and fails to set the UK on the path to an energy secure future; expresses concern at estimates by National Energy Action that 6.7 million households could be pushed into fuel poverty, increasing from 4.5 million last year; acknowledges that access to energy enables heating, lighting, cooking, and connectivity which are necessary for a fulfilling and dignified life; believes everyone should have a warm, dry, and well-insulated home, and access to clean and affordable energy, as a basic right; welcomes that Fuel Poverty Action’s demand for a universal band of free energy called Energy For All is supported by over a half a million members of the public; recognises the overwhelming public support for action on the climate crisis, and that a response to the energy price crisis must therefore advance decarbonisation rather than deepening fossil fuel dependency; believes that the Government must prioritise a transformation of the energy system as part of delivering a Green New Deal, with a focus on equity and rapid decarbonisation; and calls on the Government to bring forward an Energy Equity Commission Bill to replace the price cap system with a free universal basic energy allowance supplemented by Social Tariff, alongside a retrofiting strategy for the Nations including proposals for a street-by-street retrofit programme led by devolved administrations and local authorities, to ensure every home is warm in winter and cool in summer, and that energy saving is encouraged and supported.

The first 6 Members who have signed to support the motion are the sponsors. The primary sponsor is generally the person who tabled the motion and has responsibility for it. The date shown is when the Member signed the motion.

In addition to the sponsors, the following Members have signed to support the motion.

Blake, Olivia
Signed on 17 October 2022
Sheffield, Hallam
Hanvey, Neale
Alba Party
Signed on 20 October 2022
Kirkcaldy and Cowdenbeath
Lake, Ben
Plaid Cymru
Signed on 20 October 2022
Maskell, Rachael
Signed on 27 October 2022
York Central
McDonnell, John
Signed on 28 October 2022
Hayes and Harlington
Burgon, Richard
Signed on 1 November 2022
Leeds East
Day, Martyn
Scottish National Party
Signed on 3 November 2022
Linlithgow and East Falkirk
Howarth, Sir George
Signed on 7 November 2022
Whitford, Dr Philippa
Scottish National Party
Signed on 7 November 2022
Central Ayrshire
Butler, Dawn
Signed on 8 November 2022
Brent Central
Cameron, Dr Lisa
Scottish National Party
Signed on 15 November 2022
East Kilbride, Strathaven and Lesmahagow
Whitley, Mick
Signed on 28 November 2022
Carden, Dan
Signed on 29 November 2022
Liverpool, Walton
Lloyd, Tony
Signed on 15 December 2022
Brock, Deidre
Scottish National Party
Signed on 16 December 2022
Edinburgh North and Leith
Williams, Hywel
Plaid Cymru
Signed on 12 January 2023
Ferrier, Margaret
Signed on 16 January 2023
Rutherglen and Hamilton West
De Cordova, Marsha
Signed on 16 January 2023
Sultana, Zarah
Signed on 17 January 2023
Coventry South
Ribeiro-Addy, Bell
Signed on 18 January 2023
Russell-Moyle, Lloyd
Signed on 19 January 2023
Brighton, Kemptown
Winter, Beth
Signed on 30 January 2023
Cynon Valley
Begum, Apsana
Signed on 1 February 2023
Poplar and Limehouse
McLaughlin, Anne
Scottish National Party
Signed on 8 March 2023
Glasgow North East
Lewell-Buck, Mrs Emma
Signed on 10 March 2023
South Shields
Thewliss, Alison
Scottish National Party
Signed on 13 March 2023
Glasgow Central
Webbe, Claudia
Signed on 14 March 2023
Leicester East
Byrne, Ian
Signed on 20 March 2023
Liverpool, West Derby

There are no withdrawn signatures for this motion.