Skip to main content

12th anniversary of the detainment of political prisoners in Bahrain

EDM (Early Day Motion) 1014: tabled on 27 March 2023

Tabled in the 2022-23 session.

This motion has been signed by 18 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House recognises the 12th anniversary of the imprisonment of political prisoners in Bahrain; expresses grave concern over their ongoing, wrongful detention and violations of their human rights; recalls that during Bahrain’s Arab Spring pro-democracy uprising in 2011, authorities arrested opposition figures, religious leaders and human rights defenders, including Hassan Mushaima, Abdul-Hadi Al-Khawaja, Dr Abduljalil Al-Singace, Sheikh Mohammed Habib Al-Miqdad, Sheikh Abduljalil Al-Miqdad, Sheikh Saeed AlNouri, Abdulwahab Husain, Mohamed Ali Ismaeel, Sheikh Mirza Al-Mahroos and Sheikh Abdulhadi Al-Mukhoder, of whom seven are convicted to life imprisonment and three to 15 years; condemns reports that many of these individuals including Mushaima, Dr Al-Singace and Al-Khawaja were subjected to torture, some of which was documented in the Bahrain Independent Commission of Inquiry report; notes reports that many still face the denial of access to timely and adequate medical care; has particular concern for Dr Al-Singace, who has been on hunger strike for over one year and eight months, due to the Bahraini authorities’ refusal to return his arbitrarily confiscated, apolitical academic research to his family; deplores reports that since July 2021 Dr Al-Singace and Mushaima have been held in effective solitary confinement; echoes calls made by human rights organisations, including the Bahrain Institute for Rights and Democracy, for Bahrain to release Dr Al-Singace immediately and unconditionally, and for his research to be returned; and calls on the Government to use all available leverage, both privately and publicly, to push Bahrain to release the above-named individuals.

The first 6 Members who have signed to support the motion are the sponsors. The primary sponsor is generally the person who tabled the motion and has responsibility for it. The date shown is when the Member signed the motion.

In addition to the sponsors, the following Members have signed to support the motion.

There are no withdrawn signatures for this motion.