Skip to main content

Luton Town Football Club, winners of the EFL Championship Play-Off 2022-23

EDM (Early Day Motion) 1239: tabled on 05 June 2023

Tabled in the 2022-23 session.

This motion has been signed by 9 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House congratulates Luton Town Football Club on winning the English Football League Championship Play-Off Final and being promoted to the Premier League; celebrates the contribution and success of the players, manager Rob Edwards, club staff and club’s officials, including the Chairman, David Wilkinson, and Chief Executive, Gary Sweet; recognises the meteoric rise of the club from the National League to the Premier League in only nine years; applauds the loyal Hatters fans who follow the team across the country and celebrated promotion in Luton’s St George’s Square; gives particular acknowledgement to midfielder Pelly-Ruddock Mpanzu, as he became the first player to go from National League to the Premier League with the same football club; recognises the importance of promotion to the building of the new Power Court Stadium and the future of success of the club and town; and looks forward to Luton welcoming Premier League football clubs to the historic Kenilworth Road after 31 years outside top flight football.