Skip to main content

Lanark United, West of Scotland Football League Third Division champions

EDM (Early Day Motion) 772: tabled on 20 May 2024

Tabled in the 2023-24 session.

This motion has been signed by 13 Members. It has not yet had any amendments submitted.

Motion text

That this House congratulates Lanark United Football Club on winning the 2023-24 West of Scotland Football League Third Division title; recognises that Lanark United, affectionately known as the Yowes, secured their championship with two games to play after defeating Greenock 8-0 at Moor Park; notes that they ended the season on 67 points, 11 clear of runners-up Lesmahagow; commends top scorer Kieran Brannan for helping his team towards the title with 14 league goals; further commends manager Daryl Meikle and all his players and staff for their collective efforts and determination to succeed; and wishes the club well for the forthcoming season.